This competition is designed to recognise AEVA members who have travelled long distances in an EV to reach a major annual national event. A perpetual trophy organised by AEVA National Council was awarded for the first time in Devonport in 2017.

2024 - Hobart

The Glen George Trophy returns to Tasmania!

Your destination is:

AEVA National Conference and the Energy Efficiency Electric Expo
November 2, 2024
Princes Wharf 1
Castray Esplanade, Hobart, Tasmania 

Entrants are required to complete the entry form once you make it to the destination. The winner will be announced on November 2, 2024 at the cocktail reception for the Kunanyi Challenge.
See below for the rules!

Current trophy holder

National Conference and Expo, Perth, November 2023 

Perth Convention and Exhibition Centre

The results were announced at the Gala Dinner by the National President, Chris Jones. .

There were three entrants for this award.  The results were as follows:


Richard Laxton, driving his 2019 Tesla Model 3 (77.5 kWh battery) from Atherton, Queensland (last four weeks of his journey), a distance of 7536 km: 101.2 points.

Runner up

Charles Gregory, driving his 2022 Tesla Model 3 RWD (60 kWh) from Lenah Valley, Tasmania, a distance of 5258 km: 89.1 points.

Honourable mention

Malcolm Street, driving his Cupra Born (77 kWh) from Fraser, ACT, a distance of 4097 km: 53.2 points.

Previous Winners

Fully Charged Live, March 2023

International Convention Centre, Darling Harbour, Sydney

The Trophy was presented by Robert Llewellyn at the AEVA stall on the afternoon of Saturday 11 March.

There were five entrants for this award.  The results were as follows:


Steve Fuery, riding his Zero DSR electric motorbike (14.4 kWh battery) from Ryanston, Victoria, a distance of 1177 km: 86.7 points


Trevor Richards, driving his "T-Rev" unique construction (28.8 kWh battery) from Kuttabul, Queensland, a distance of 2025 km: 78.3 points

Honourable mentions

Hunter and Trudy Murray, driving their Tesla Model S (77.5 kWh battery) from Desert Spring, NT: a total of 2918 km: 46.6 points.

Bryce Gaton, driving his Kona electric (64 kWh battery) from Brighton East, Victoria, a distance of 893 km: 14.1 points.

Simon Hicks, driving his Kia EV6 (78 kWh battery) from Sandy Flat, NSW, a distance of 732 km: 10.4 points.


Electric Vehicle Conference and Expo 2022
Exhibition Park in Canberra
Corner of Flemington Rd and Northbourne Ave
Mitchell, ACT 2911
August 5-7 2022

Entrants were required to complete the entry form once they had made it to the destination. The winner was announced at the Gala Dinner on Friday 5 August

There were six entrants in 2022.  The results were as follows:


Trevor Richards, driving his T-Rev from Kuttabul (near Mackay) in Queensland, a distance of 2323 km: 87 points

Trevor's travel blog can be found here


Hunter Murray, driving his Model S from Alice Springs, a distance of 2851 km: 43 points

Honourable mentions

David Cann (South Australia), a distance of 1200 km: 18 points

Charles Gregory (Tasmania), a distance of 991 km: 16 points

Michael Dunn (NSW), a distance of 286 km: 16 points

Bryce Gaton (Victoria), a distance of 680 km: 14 points.


Photo: AEVA National President Chris Jones, presenting the 2022 Glen George Trophy to Trevor Richards.

2021 and 2020

Not awarded due to COVID-19

2019 - 2017

2019 Glen George, 85 points, Kuttabul QLD to Sydney 2078 km.  See the travel blog for more details!

2018 Trevor Richards, 29 points, Kuttabul QLD to Brisbane QLD 1030 km

2017 Sally Knight, 68 points, Adelaide SA to Devonport TAS 1012 km



Travelled distance alone is not a great indicator of the effort required to get somewhere in an EV.  We've developed a formula that also takes battery size and age into consideration.  The winner will be the one who scores the most points:
Our formula is:   (D/B)+A
Where D is the distance travelled in km, B is the battery capacity in kWh and A is the age of the battery in years.  This gives a number of points which is the figure used to find a winner. 

The Rules

  1. Open to any vehicle that uses an electric motor for propulsion, with that electricity stored but not generated on the vehicle.  This excludes pedal-assist electric pushbikes, solar powered vehicles and mild hybrids.
  2. Plug-in hybrid vehicles may enter, but the EV Journey will start at the last time the fuel (petrol, hydrogen) was used.
  3. The start of the EV Journey shall be counted as the point on the trip furthest from the destination, and side trips will not count toward the distance travelled.  E.g., if a car travelled from Sydney to Brisbane, then on to AGM in Melbourne, the distance would be from Brisbane to Melbourne.
  4. Vehicles may be carried a portion of the journey (e.g. by trailer or ferry), with that distance not counted toward the distance travelled.
  5. Battery size is nominal usable, as claimed by the manufacturer (or builder) when new. 
  6. Battery age is to the nearest year, starting at the vehicle's manufacturing date, or, if the battery is newer than the vehicle, the date of installation of the battery in the vehicle.
  7. Entrants must be members of AEVA at the time of the journey.
  8. The EV Journey will be as reported by the driver(s), and will be subject to scrutiny by the judge (a member of the destination AEVA branch).  Drivers are encouraged to keep logbooks and/or photographic evidence to support their claims in case of disputes.
  9. The EV Journey will be limited to a time period of four weeks prior to the date of the event.  Travel earlier than this date will not be counted towards the EV Journey.