At its meeting on 25 June 2024, the AEVA Board endorsed a proposal from the South Australian Branch to establish a national AEVA Motorsport Development Committee. The Committee will develop, promote, support and operate an AEVA Motorsport Club (AEVAMC) as a registered Motorsport Australia club.


The proposed aims of the Committee (to be reviewed at its first meeting) are:

·       to inform AEVA members about EV motorsport opportunities

·       to operate the AEVAMC as a Motorsport Australia club, facilitating members' participation in Motorsport events

·       to work with regulators, administrators and partners to mitigate perceived risks and meet the safety requirements for EVs in local Motorsport Australia club events

·       to minimise barriers and costs for AEVA members to participate in EV motorsport

·       to adapt and create motorsport formats that suit EVs (such as Hillclimbs, Sprints, and Speed & Efficiency Trials)

·       to encourage and support the rollout of EV charging infrastructure necessary to EV motorsport

·       to invite and encourage AEVA members to participate in motorsport

·       to challenge and invite existing motorsport enthusiasts to try EVs (potentially accelerating EV adoption and gaining AEVA new members).


The Committee will be co-chaired by David Sargent and Mike Polljonker. It will comprise all interested AEVA members, but with the aim of having at least one representative from each AEVA branch.

The Committee will usually meet monthly online, and will provide regular reports to the AEVA Board.

Funding, if any, would be identified by the Committee and would require Board approval.