Print View

Your printed page will look something like this.

ACT Branch

Welcome to the ACT Branch home page!   




Who we are

We are the ACT Branch of the Australian Electric Vehicle Association (AEVA).  We are known informally as "Canberra EV".  We are a volunteer-run, not-for-profit organisation dedicated to promoting electric vehicle technology (including cars, trucks, buses, bikes and scooters) in the ACT.  Our members include early adopters and DIY enthusiasts who have converted petrol cars to EVs. Our key motivations include abating emissions and decreasing Australia's dependence on imported fossil fuels. We celebrate the fact that EVs are cleaner, quieter, safer and more reliable.

We aim to promote the uptake of EVs in Canberra.  We do this in a context of government support.  The ACT Government has announced an Action Plan for transition to zero emission vehicles, and our Branch is working with ACT Government officials to encourage progress on this Plan.

Our Executive

Our office holders are:

  • Chair – Edward Eom
  • Deputy Chair – Mark Hemmingsen
  • Secretary – Warwick Cathro
  • Treasurer – Darryl Bourke
  • Events Co-ordinator – Adele Craven
  • Policy Co-ordinator – Peter Campbell

The Chair, Secretary and Treasurer can be contacted by e-mailing

Anyone seeking contact details for other members of the Executive should request them from the Secretary.


Our meetings are opportunities to share ideas among our members, to hear from guest speakers, to plan events, and to share information on technical matters.

We normally meet on the first Monday of each month (excluding January and December) at 7pm, unless this is an ACT public holiday, in which case the meeting is held on the second Monday.  These meetings are held at the Hellenic Club, Moore St,, Canberra City, and attendees are encouraged to enjoy a meal there before the meeting, at 6pm.  In December, there is usually a social gathering such as a barbecue at a picnic site.

AEVA ACT Branch members can access the agendas and minutes of recent monthly ACT Branch meetings. You will need to sign on and to have the status of a financial member in order to view these documents.

Click here to access agendas and minutes


The Hellenic Club is closed during the Covid19 distancing procedures, so commencing in April 2020, meetings are being held using Zoom.  Contact the Secretary if you are not on the Discussion List (see below) and wish to receive a meeting invitation.

Discussion list and Facebook page

The Branch maintains an e-mail discussion list, which is open to anyone (ie not just AEVA members) interested in electric vehicles in the ACT.  The list provides a channel for meeting reminders, for timely distribution of news, and for debate and discussion of relevant topics. Subscribers to the list are encouraged to join AEVA and to participate in Branch meetings.

Instructions on joining the Discussion List may be found here.

There is also a Canberra EV Facebook group here. Like the Discussion List, it is open to anyone interested in EVs in the ACT.

ACT vehicle statistics

Some statistics on vehicles registered in the ACT, including the number of electric vehicles, may be found here.

Efforts to encourage government policies

Between mid 2018 and eary 2020, the Branch fostered a Working Group on EV Policy and Advocacy. The final report of that Working Group may be found here.

As part of its activities, the Working Group developed this promotional leaflet for use at community outreach events.

The Branch now has a Policy Co-ordinator as part of its Executive Team, and will continue to advocate for improved EV policies by the Federal and Territory governments.

Recent activities

An account of some recent activities of the ACT Branch may be found here.

Interesting in joining AEVA?

To join AEVA, click here.  Once you are a member you'll get regular email updates.


For more information on the ACT Branch please e-mail secretary [at]