

Media Release: 5 October 2024

AEVA Charge Station of the Year; Nominations Finalised!

The Australian Electric Vehicle Association (AEVA) today announced the finalists for its inaugural Charging Station of the Year Award.

The award recognises EV charging stations for their location, utility and amenity, with nominations provided directly from AEVA members - the owners and drivers of EVs. With over 1050 rapid-charge stations and 3200 accessible plugs, electric travellers can now traverse the continent with relative ease.

The eight state and territory finalists are:

ACT: Vibe Hotel (Evie/ActewAGL partnership)

NSW: Pheasants Nest, northbound and southbound (Ampol)

NT: Alicetronics, Alice Springs (Chargefox)

QLD: Yandina Ginger factory (Tesla – open to all EVs)

SA: Snowtown (Chargefox/RAA partnership)

TAS: Kings Meadows (Chargefox)

VIC: Cann River, Mick Baum Park (Tesla – open to All EVs)

WA: Caiguna Roadhouse (private/crowd-funded)

"Some of these charging stations fill critical gaps on our national highways, while others offer multiple parallel and pull-through bays ideal for those towing campers. Those close to toilets, cafes, restaurants and tourist bureaus are always well appreciated." said AEVA president, Dr Chris Jones.

"The AEVA hopes this award will also encourage charge point operators to continuously improve the experience for travellers, particularly with regard to lighting and public safety, accessibility for EV drivers with disabilities, and reliable hardware to keep us moving.

The outright national winner will be selected from these finalists by a committee of seasoned EV road trippers, and announced at the AEVA Expo in Hobart on 3 November.

Ends

Contact: Chris Jones Ph: 0418 908 002